Temecula Wage & Hour Claim Lawyer
Experienced Employment Attorneys in Temecula & Hemet
Our Temecula employment attorneys at Davis Wojcik Duarte, A Professional Law Corporation are here to provide counsel for families and employees who have been mistreated by unscrupulous employers. We can help you stand up for your rights under California law, using our more than 50 years of collective legal experience and insight to guide your case. California's wage and hour laws are the most complicated in the nation. However, the good news is that California is also the most “employee friendly” state in the nation.
If you believe that you have been a victim of employer mistreatment regarding your wages, be sure to call on our employment law team immediately!
Identifying Employee Wage & Hour Abuse
Employees often suffer legal wrongs without even knowing it and may not even realize that they have options to hold employers accountable.
Some of the most typical violations by employers include:
- Overtime violations
- Time card tampering
- Unpaid wages
- Meal and rest break violation
- Misclassification of nonexempt employees
- Minimum wage violations
- Purchase work uniforms
- Unpaid commissions / bonuses
- Pay check stub violations
Overtime / Meal & Rest Break Violations
With very few exceptions, if you work more than eight hours in any given day, you have the right to receive overtime pay, no matter how many hours you worked that week or pay period.
Did you know that for every 4 hours worked, you have the right to a 10-minute break? If you work a typical eight hour day, you have the right to one break during the first four hours of work, and another break during the last four hours of work.
Pay Check Stub Violations & Employer Misclassification
California Labor Code section 226 requires employers to include up to nine categories of information on an employee’s paycheck stub, including:
- Gross wages
- All deductions
- Hours worked
- Rates of pay
The information cannot be presented in a deceitful or confusing manner meant to mislead the employee.
Does your employer call you a “manager” to avoid paying you overtime? In many cases employers are not allowed to avoid paying overtime unless an employee’s job duties are truly managerial in nature. Simply calling an employee a manager is not allowed.
Think your claim is too small? Think again!
Under current California law, failure to properly pay employees for overtime or “off the clock work” can result in the employer being hit with large penalties; in some case, the penalty can far exceed the actual unpaid wage.
The California Labor Code provides such penalties in large part to discourage employers from violating wage and hour laws. If you find yourself in such a situation, turn to our firm. We are here to serve clients in San Jacinto, Menifee, Murrieta, Wildomar, Canyon Lake, and Banning.
Let our Hemet and Temecula employment lawyers at Davis Wojcik Duarte, A Professional Law Corporation review your claim to see if you qualify.